top of page
Search
  • stirenepress

New site and new curriculum...

Updated: Mar 3, 2023

I first published A Workbook and Study Guide to A Child's History of the World by Virgil M. Hillyer with Answer Key in early 2019. (Yes, I know that is really long title.)


For various reasons, I did not do that much with it, as far as spreading the word that this resource was available for sale.


For a couple of reasons, I decided to start promoting this resource again. One reason is that my second son is almost old enough to use it and I'm excited to share it with him, and so it is on my mind again. The workbook that I made really did work well for my oldest and I'm looking forward to using it again. In fact, my oldest son prefers to use the workbooks that I make to other curriculum, and I am half-way done with a new one. In late Spring 2022, I will be releasing a workbook/study guide to go along with The Story of the Greeks by H.A. Guerber. This workbook is geared to 4th thru 8th grade, and my son and I are really enjoying it. I told him next year that I was going to use the resources on Roman history that were already available and he begged me to make another one just like this for The Story of the Romans by H.A. Guerber. So I suppose I will be making that one next!


Back to the workbook for Hillyer's book, one of the reasons I made the workbook was to make the book more accessible to my teaching style and my son's learning style. Many people use A Child's History of the World without a workbook, taking a more Charlotte Mason approach, and I think that is great if it works for your family! Without going into too many personal family details (other than that hyperlexia and asynchronous development were involved), the workbook was very helpful for us. There are a variety of reasons why a Charlotte Mason only approach might not work for every child, all the time, for every subject. For families that would like to use "living books" in their homeschool, but would like to take a more "traditional approach" (or perhaps need a more independent curriculum for other reasons), my hope is that the workbooks offered on this site (so far only one!) will help you in doing so!



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page