top of page
Search
  • stirenepress

Review of Exploring Creation with Mathematics: Level 1

Updated: Jul 7, 2023

Updated February 2nd, 2023: After some more experience with the curriculum, I am changing my review a bit. I'll update again, if needed, as we get further into it.

I recently purchased Exploring Creation with Mathematics: Level 1 to try with my 5 year old son. So far we are really loving it!


I had first tried Rod and Staff Math Level 1 with him, which had worked well for my first son. I quickly found out that this program would not work my youngest. My first son preferred work that would get done very quickly and straightforwardly. He also has a bit of a working memory issue and needed extra drill practice with math facts. (After Rod and Staff 1, and part of Level 2, I switched my oldest to CLE.)


Back to the present, I felt guilty giving my son the Rod and Staff worksheets because I knew they were just so boring to him and he didn't need the practice. He is a colorful, hands-on, crafty, sort of guy. After Lesson 28 or so, I took the program away and considered several other programs for him. I really wanted to get McRuffy Press for him, which seems perfect. However, the price was just not right. It is very pricey and my son only needed the second half of the Kindergarten program before starting the first grade program. I liked the fact that McRuffy Press was scripted. Many parents don't like that, but I like having the script there that I can choose to use, modify, or just leave off.

Since I didn't want to spend full price just to get the second half of McRuffy Press kindergarten math, I considered The Good & The Beautiful math, which honestly seemed pretty perfect too. It is also very affordable! However, I watched a promotional video and saw that in the upper years they put QR codes on every lesson page so kids or adults can look up instructional videos on their iPhone. I already had my reservations about The Good & The Beautiful, but that observation confirmed it would not work for us. (I'm kind of a luddite, so QR codes and stuff, are not my thing and, well, the Book of Revelations, current world events, etc...I'll just leave it there).


Next, I considered Math with Confidence by Kate Snow. However, I couldn't get passed the secular aspect of the program. I mean, there is not an Orthodox Christian math program anywhere, but I prefer curriculum that points to the God of The Bible as creator of the universe, even if I can't agree with everything in their curriculum. (Math is directly related to God's creator order, so I prefer curriculum that reinforces that.) So, then, I thought, what is the exact opposite of a secular program - Apologia!


Exploring Creation with Mathematics Level 1 by Apologia is just perfect for my son! It introduces all of the necessary math concepts with games, crafts, hands-on activities and a very gentle amount of written practice problems. My son even asked to do this book during his break from school! He loves it! It is absolutely perfect, and at the right price too, at just $60 (You will need the teacher's guide for some of the activities). I have to admit, I'm not crazy about the space theme in the book, but it's a small thing overall.


I am not sure, however, if this program will lead to math fact mastery, but since my son is only 5 and a few months, and enjoys math and is very natural at it, I'd rather him have fun with math concepts and drill for the facts later, if needed. Since my son is so natural at math, I'm not sure if he will want to do all of the hands-on activities as he gets older. I'm also not thrilled with the fact that the program is mastery. When I look at the second grade level, each lesson seems to be on something else, with very little review of other things. From looking at the samples, it seems math fact memorization is supposed to be done using flash cards, and that there is little written review of facts. While I absolutely love Level 1 for an advanced kindergartener I'm not sure I would recommend it for a true first grader. This is because it is a mastery style curriculum, that I don't think will actually lead to mastery. To me, it seems like more of a "survey course."


As I have gotten further in the curriculum, I am also seeing some of the common core conceptual style activities that work for some kids and do not work for others. We'll see how it goes with my son. We are at Lesson 27 of 90 or so and my son is still loving the curriculum. I can see, though, that some of the concepts coming up are a little harder, such as adding within a ten frame, or learning how to add doubles (like 8 by 8) and then using that to figure out 8+9. While the beginning lessons were super, super easy, this is a huge ramp up with very little written practice to back it up in prior lessons. I have already ordered CLE Mathematics Level 1 for when we hit the first wall with this curriculum. I know CLE will work without much effort. With the crazy inflation that is even hitting homeschool curriculums, I am going to stick with CLE since I already have Teacher's Guides for Grades 2 thru 6.


In summary, my overall review is, Exploring Creation with Mathematics Level 1 is fantastic for an advanced Pre-K'er, kindergartner, or a young first grade that is crafty and likes hands-on work. It would also work well an older child (6-7) that is not math-inclined, or simply if the parent would prefer a "gentle" math program for a certain schooling method or philosophy (i.e. Charlotte Mason). I would not purchase this program for an advanced child that prefers workbooks and does not like to sit down and do crafts or color. A child like this may find many of the activities in the curriculum tedious and unnecessary. Christian Light Education math would be a better fit for a child like that.


I hope this review helps you in deciding which curriculum to purchase! Thanks for reading!


Update: We abandoned Exploring Creation with Mathematics, for now at least, with the Chapter that started with learning the "doubles" all the way through 9+9. I thought it would be better if my son first mastered all of the facts through 10 first. We may use the other lessons later on, but for now CLE Mathematics 1 is working great. My son breezed through the first Light Unit in a week, but is now at a level that is right for him in the second light unit and only does about 1 lesson a day. We enjoy CLE so much more! I hadn't used Level 1 with my first son, but I wish I had!

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page